Post pregnancy weight loss (Body by Vi, UK)

Posted on Updated on

Everyone’s looking to shift those last few pounds of baby weight.. you know, the ones that just won’t go!

I was recently given the opportunity to review a company which has just been introduced to the UK; Body By Vi. It’s had huge success in North America and is expected to make waves here too. The challenge, providing you are on the full kit, is for you to lose 10lbs of weight or build 10lb of muscle. This stems from their belief that the secret to success lies in the first 10lbs.

I received a 3 day challenge kit which included 6 meal replacement shakes and a mix-in strawberry powder.

photo

Day 1 – starting weight.

photo copy

Now don’t laugh. I know you’re probably all thinking “What on EARTH is she doing trying to lose weight?”. Admittedly, I am lighter than I was before I became pregnant. However, I was much slimmer round the middle and had slightly fuller boobs. What I want out of this is for me to lose my post pregnancy middle spread, and THEN tone it up/build a bit of muscle.

I have to say day 1 was tough. I’m used to having a good breakfast (3 rounds of toast and a cup of tea) and I must say, as delicious as this shake was, it just didn’t fill me up. I think I was already looking for my next meal before I’d even finished it. I stuck purely with the shakes for the first day, but found that I was awfully hungry!

Day 2 was slightly better because I was prepared for the hunger, although I must admit I did eat a healthy snack between the shakes just to keep the hunger from turning me into a junk food, chocolate craving maniac scrapping around the cupboards for so much as a naughty biscuit crumb.

By day 3, I was pretty glad it was coming to an end, although I was a little bit excited to see if I’d actually lost any weight the next morning. And I had;

photo-2

That’s right. I’d lost a pound in 3 days. I wasn’t disheartened, I was actually pretty happy with myself. Being slow and steady with weight loss is seen as the best way rather than, say 10lb a week, which is likely to come straight back on.

Although I did this on my own, Body by Vi’s message is that it’s about the challenge. This is what sets them apart from any other shake diet currently out there. Their statistics show that you’re more likely to lose weight if you share and join with friends/family/colleagues.

To encourage you to do the challenge, Body by Vi also run something called ‘Project 10’. Effectively you select your goal, the kit you wish to use, document it and upload an ‘I want it’ video to show this. They then pick 10 winners (5 males, 5 females) a week to win £600. See more here www.vi.co.uk/the-challenge

There appear to be, from looking at the website, lots of different flavours to cater for everyone. However, there are recipes you can make at home to make them more bearable, whether it be for the flavour or the texture etc.. Take a look at ‘Think Outside the Blender‘ and ‘ViSalus Shake Recipes‘. I think you’ll be very surprised at what you can actually make!

Personally, I don’t think this is for me. I’m far too much of a food lover to be replacing it, even if it is only for 90 days and no matter how much I want to shift these last few pounds before I can really start pumping the iron. I would however say that the shakes I had were very flavoursome (like cake mix, who doesn’t LOVE cake mix?) and I lost weight.

Do you want to take the challenge? For more information, please visit and contact alansmith90@myvi.net

J

2 thoughts on “Post pregnancy weight loss (Body by Vi, UK)

    Rebecca U said:
    March 13, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    well done for dieting! though i’d love my scales to say those numbers haha

    http://www.AAUBlog.com

      raisingtherings responded:
      March 15, 2014 at 5:53 pm

      Thank you! It is hard work, but I am SO determined to do it. I feel guilty because compared to others, numbers are low, but I think the less weight you have to lose, the harder it is. Shows that it works!

Leave a Reply

