Finally.. some answers!

Posted on Updated on

It’s only taken 8 months to get them, but finally I have some of the answers I’ve been waiting for.

If you’ve read my other post, “What they don’t tell you“, you’ll see a few of the things I’ve been experiencing since giving birth, and this is a little extension of something else I’ve had problems with. I’ve been passed pillar to post, and back again, when it comes to doctors, but I finally received a referral to see a Physiologist in April.

In my last post, I told you about struggling to hold your wind, and the importance of pelvic floor exercises. However, following all my tests and the preliminary results, nothing I had been doing would have been able to help with this at all. There are mainly 3 things that have gone wrong (all caused by childbirth) and again, I think it’s important for those who are expecting to know that things can go wrong.

I had 4 tests done to determine the working order of my back passage since I’ve had several issues with going to the toilet, or not as it happens. The first thing is that I have something called a small ‘rectocele’. This is where the the front wall of your rectum effectively bulges into the back wall of the vagina. It forms a pouch, so when you try going to the toilet, your poo gets stuck. Although she told me mine is only small, I’m having lots of problems with this at the moment, so hopefully there will be a ‘next step’.

Secondly, I have weakening of my inner sphincter muscles, also not helped by the third and final problem of irreparable nerve damage. If I try to stop myself from passing wind, I have to shift position as the nerves don’t respond correctly and don’t ‘pull up’ in the right place.

This isn’t a long post, but I still want to make women aware that things like this aren’t right, even if it seems like something very normal after childbirth.

What problems did you suffer with, or do you still suffer with?

My follow up appointment has been made for mid-July, the NHS are so slow!

Leave a Reply

