I’ve returned to work!

Posted on Updated on

Nine months of maternity leave bliss has ended and it was my first week back at work. I can’t even begin to tell you just how sad I am; it means my little boy is growing up – way too fast!

Everyone tells you to enjoy them while they’re so little and to cherish every second you get with them while they’re still babies, but people will never be able to tell you enough until you’ve been through it yourself and realise just how quick time goes.

Friday was the killer for me, only because Toby wasn’t awake before I left and I didn’t get to give him a full on cuddle or kiss. All I could do was give him a quiet wave goodbye at his bedroom door while he was still asleep. I was literally wishing all the time away so I could get home.

However, there are certain things I do enjoy about being back at work. The first obviously being that I will no longer be on maternity pay (hip hip hooray!) so it means more pennies in the bank, which will help with the wedding savings, and first birthday presents for T (oh my god, will he really be 1 already?).

Secondly, who misses adult conversation? Someone who doesn’t just say ‘da da da’ back at you, and people who don’t want to talk about bottles and bum changes. It’s nice to have a bit of normality back and remember you had a life before you had your baby.

Thirdly, a bit of structure never hurt anybody. I enjoy knowing what I’m going to be doing for the time I’m at work. I’ll be doing ABC between X hours and DEF between Y hours – simple yet effective. It further encourages me to make the most out of the time I’m not at work, and plan things to do with Toby when I’m at home.

You don’t have to think about anything else except yourself and your workload. Being back at work isn’t all doom and gloom. Yes, you do have to be more organised about when you’re going to do that load of washing, and who’s going to be cooking that night. But, and this is a HUGE but, you really learn to appreciate the time you have at home with your children. You forget what it’s like to be away from them for extended periods of time, and I know when I’m not around my son I literally feel like I’ve lost a limb.

But we must all remember the best, and most rewarding, job you could ever do is be a mummy!

How did you feel when you went back to work?

J

2 thoughts on “I’ve returned to work!

    Tam said:
    June 18, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Oh yes I enjoyed that very much it’s just the right length and I got the emotion of it ! Bravo

    Catriona Stephen said:
    June 25, 2014 at 5:22 am

    I will be returning to uni in September and my little one will be 11 months old. I’m already dreading it, I just don’t want to have to leave him 😦

Leave a Reply

